AFL 2 years ago

AFL awards Brownlows to Cotchin, Mitchell

  • AFL awards Brownlows to Cotchin, Mitchell

    MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 17: Trent Cotchin of the Tigers and Sam Mitchell of the Eagles address the media during a joint press conference after being awarded the 2012 Brownlow Medal at AFL House on November 17, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media/Getty Images)

Trent Cotchin and Sam Mitchell officially become AFL Brownlow Medallists at a Tuesday lunchtime ceremony in Melbourne.

The Richmond captain and star West Coast recruit will received their 2012 medals in front of family and friends.

Cotchin and Mitchell, then playing for Hawthorn, originally finished joint runners-up to Essendon captain Jobe Watson in the 2012 count.

But Watson eventually lost his medal as a result of the Essendon supplements debacle.

He was among 34 current and past Essendon players founding guilty of doping offences that related to the club's disastrous 2012 supplements program.

Watson's medal fate was sealed once a legal appeal in Switzerland failed to have the bans overturned.

The original bans were handed down in January after WADA successfully appealed to the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

The Swiss appeal verdict was made two months ago.

Watson decided to give up his medal last month before the AFL Commission ruled on the issue.

At the annual Brownlow ceremony, the previous year's winner usually hangs the medal around the neck of the winner.

But the unprecedented circumstances of Tuesday's presentation has meant a different arrangement.

Ian Stewart was Richmond's last Brownlow Medallist in 1971 and he will present the medal to Cotchin.

Likewise, Shane Crawford was the most recent Hawthorn winner in 1999 and Mitchell will receive the medal from his former teammate.

Mitchell left Hawthorn at the end of this season to join the Eagles in a stunning trade.

0 0
please wait...