AFL 2 years ago

Dangerfield dominates AFL award

  • Dangerfield dominates AFL award

    MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 13: Patrick Dangerfield of the Cats poses with the trophy after being awarded the 2016 AFL Players Association Most Valuable Player at the 2016 AFL Players MVP Awards at Peninsula on September 13, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

Geelong star and overwhelming Brownlow Medal favourite Patrick Dangerfield has dominated voting for the AFL Players Association most valuable player award.

Dangerfield won his first Leigh Matthews Trophy with a whopping 1369 votes.

His former Adelaide teammate Rory Sloane was well off the pace in second place with 443 votes, while Richmond midfielder Dustin Martin was third with 297.

You might also like

Current players vote on the award.

The margin is similar to last year, when Fremantle's Nat Fyfe won with 1455 and went on to take out the Brownlow.

Last year, North Melbourne ruckman Todd Goldstein was runner-up on 578 and Dangerfield (364) was third.

Dangerfield took his game to a new level after making the high-profile move late last year from the Crows to the Cats.

He is hotly-favoured to become only the ninth player to win the most valuable player award and the Brownlow in the same season.

Apart from Fyfe last year, among current players to achieve the feat, Gold Coast captain Gary Ablett did it in 2009 and 2013.

Also on Tuesday night, Sydney's Luke Parker won the Robert Rose award as the league's most courageous player for the second-straight season.

Sydney's Rising Star winner Callum Mills took out the association's best first-year player award, while Adelaide's Taylor Walker was named best captain.

Western Bulldogs star Marcus Bontempelli was named captain of the association's under-22 team for the season and Essendon onballer Zach Merrett is the vice-captain.

0 0
please wait...